Home > Inspirational Stories, Islam, Knowledge, Manners of a Muslim, Marriage, Matters related to women, Recommended Acts (Sunnah) > Her Affection, Closeness and Interaction with the Prophet

Her Affection, Closeness and Interaction with the Prophet


Her affection, closeness and interaction with the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam)

The following hadeeth shows the jovial relationship between them, the ultimate love they shared, and the special rank she had over the wives of Allah’s Messenger (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) who were present at the same time:

  1. From Hisham ibn ‘Urwa,from his father, that ‘Aaishah (radhiyallaahu ‘anhaa) said:

“While she was on a journey along with Allah’s Messenger (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) they let the rest of the people proceed and they stayed behind them, and then he challenged her to a race. She said:

‘I had a race with him (the prophet) and I outstripped him on my feet.

But another time when I became fleshy, (again) I had a race with him (the prophet) but this time he outstripped me.

So he (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) said: ‘O’Aaishah, this is [payback] for that time you won over me.”[1]

2. Narrated An-Numaan ibn Basheer (radhiyallaahu ‘anhu):

“Aboo Bakr asked the permission of the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) to come in and when entered he heard ‘Aaishah speaking in a loud voice.

So he entered, [he wanted to get hold of her] and he said: ‘O you daughter of so and so! Do I see you raising your voice to the Messenger of Allah!?’  [He wanted to get hold of her to punish her] but the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) prevented him and cam between him [Aboo Bakr] and her.

So Aboo Bakr left.

So the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) began saying to her, teasing and pleasing her, ‘You see I rescued you from the man.’

Then Aboo Bakr came back another time, and he heard their laughter.

So he said: ‘Bring me into your peace as you brought me into your controversy.’

And they replied: ‘You are welcome, you are welcome.’[2]

3. Narrated ‘Aaishah (radhiyallaahu ‘anhaa):

“..It was the day of ‘Eid and the black people were playing with shields and spears, so either I requested the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam), or he asked me whether I would like to see the display. I replied in the affirmative.

Then the Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) made me stand behind him and my cheek was touching his cheek [and I put my face on his shoulders] and he was saying: “Carry on! O, Banee Arfida”, till I got tired.

The Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) asked me:  “Are you satisfied (is that sufficient for you)?”

I replied in the affirmative and he told me to leave.” And in another narration:  The Prophet (Sallallaahu ‘alayhi wasallam) asked me: ‘You have had enough?’

So I said: ‘No, do not be hasty, O Prophet of Allah.’ So he stayed for me. The he said again: ‘You have had enough?’  So I said: ‘No, do not be hasty, O Prophet of Allah.’ She continued to narrate saying: ‘And it was not that I loved to watch them, rather I loved that the women should know his status with me, and my status with him.’ [3]

Now look at the jealousy, the love and the protection of a lover to the beloved:

Narrated ibn Abee Mulaykah:  ‘Aaishah (radhiyaAllahu ‘anhaa) said:

“The Jews came to the Prophet and said to him: “As-Saamu ‘Alayka (i.e. Death be upon you).” He replied: ‘The same on you.’”

Aaishah said to them: “Rather death be upon you, and may Allah curse you and shower His Wrath upon you!”

Allah’s Messenger said: “Be gentle and calm, O Aaishah! Be gentle and beware of being harsh and of saying evil things.”

She said: “Didn’t you hear what they said?”

He said, “Didn’t you hear what I replied (to them)? I have returned their statement to them, and my invocation against them will be accepted, but their against me will not be accepted.” [4]

Source:   The Excellence of Aaishah: The Mother of the Believers.  Aboo Waheeda as-Salafee


[1] Musnad of Imaam Ahamad (6/39). Also in Sunan Aboo Daawood- it is authentic

[2] Musnad Imaam Ahmad (4/271), also Aboo Daawad (4999), under the chapter: ‘what has been narrated of the (permissible) joking..’ it is authenticated by Shaykh Al-Albaanee is Saheeha:2901

[3] Fath-ul-Baaree (no. 897)

[4] Saheeh al-Bukhaaree

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share YOUR Thoughts...

