Home > Sayings of the Salaf > A Few Sayings of the Salaf…

A Few Sayings of the Salaf…


Ibn Shubrumah mentions:

((I am amazed at the people who take care of themselves by eating food out of fear of dying, yet do not protect themselves from sins out of fear of the Fire)).

Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa. – Volume 6, Page 348

al-Haafith Ibn Hajar al-‘Asqalaanee said:

((I drank some (Zam Zam water) once, whilst I was (just) beginning my studies in hadeeth, and asked Allaah to bless me with the level/calibre of ath-Thahabee in memorising hadeeth. I then performed hajj after a period of about 20 years, and found myself to have exceeded that level/calibre. So I asked Allaah for more than that, and I hope that Allaah will grant me that))

al-Hifth – Ahammiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa.ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 65

Juz. fee Hadeeth ((maa.u Zam-Zam limaa shuriba lahu)) libni Hajar – Page 37

al-Fudayl bin ‘Iyaad (rahima-hullaah) mentions:

((I met the best of people, all of them people of the Sunnah and they used to forbid from accompanying the people of innovation)).

al-Laalikaa’ee – Sharh Usool I’tiqaad Ahlis-Sunnah wal-Jamaa’ah (no.267)

Shaqeeq al-Balkhee said:

((The sign of repentance (is): weeping at what has preceded, fear of falling into sin, leaving evil company and maintaining the company of the good)).

Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa. – Volume 9, Page 315

Muhammad ibn Waasi’ (rahima-hullaah) used to say:

((If sins had an odour then nobody would be able to sit with me)).

The Evil of Craving for Wealth and Status – Imaam ibn Rajab al-Hanbalee

Ref: Fatwa-Online

Categories: Sayings of the Salaf
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share YOUR Thoughts...

